Policy & Planning

The country has a republican form of government.

The government consists of three branches which are: the Legislative, the Executive and the Judiciary. The separation of the powers of these branches are as set out in the Constitution. Each branch exercises independently the exclusive powers accorded to it under the Constitution.

Somaliland Executive Branch

Sometimes referred to as “the Government”

The state has an Executive Branch, which is separate and independent of the legislative and the judicial branches.The Executive Branch (sometimes referred to as “the Government”), is headed by the elected President and consist of the President, The vice-President, and the Council of Ministers appointed by the President.